Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday - Books I Really Liked but Can’t Remember Anything About

Top Ten Tuesday is now hosted over at That Artsy Reader Girl



10) At First Blush



9) The Winner's Kiss



8) The Falconer




7) Did I Mention I Miss You?




6) Falling Kingdom




5) Birthright



4) Hello, I Love You



3) Truthers




2) Second Nature 



1) Soul-Mate

Monday, January 22, 2018

Manga Monday - Mini Bleach Reviews (Volumes 2-4)


Since I have a bunch of little reviews today, I thought I would stick them all into one instead of three. It just made more sense to me this way. So let's dive into these manga reviews! 




Quote: "I decided no one has the right to take a life. I exist! I should have the right to live and die freely! Like humans, or even bugs. Even a mod should have that right. So I refuse to take a life. I won't kill."

This volume is even better then the first. We get to meet Chad and Mr Hat and Clogs. We get more info on Hollows and we get to know Rukia more. We also see poor Karin getting sick over this poor suffering soul of a little boy. We also learn that Ichigo doesn't like killing. He saves the Mod soul even after the damage it caused in his body. This volume was very action packed.... this whole series is going to action packed so that's a given. Overall, this manga series is going to be one heck of a fun ride.




Quote: “If I were rain, that join sky and earth that otherwise never touch, could I join two hearths as well?”

This volume is all about Ichigo and the death of his mum. Every year, his family takes the day off from school and go visit the grave of their mother. It's a sad time and Ichigo feels so guilty and thinks that he is the cause of his mother's death. In a way... he's not wrong. But it wasn't him who killed his mother but a Hollow! 

We get to see why Ichigo wants to protect those he cares about at any cost. We also see he and Rukia bond a little more and I enjoy that as their friendship is interesting. Overall, my favorite volume yet.




Quote: “We are drawn to each other like drops of water, like the planets we repulse each other like magnets, like the color of our skin.”

This is the volume where Don Kanonji is brought in. Which if you love him, you'll love this and if you don't like him, like me, then you don't like it. His heart is in the right place but he's annoying and has no idea what he is doing. Through Kanonji's actions, Ichigo must battle a Hallow and hope to save everyone around from it. We also get Mr Hat and Clogs, whom I love to death, every time he's in the story I love it more. 

We also learn more about the Hollows which is always nice. I love that this series gives us a little info every volume so we learn new things but it's not boring and just an info drop kind of thing. It keeps it fresh while expanding the world perfectly. 

We also get to meet one of my favorite characters in the whole manga in this one! UryĆ»! 



Music Monday - GARNiDELiA

Music Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren over at Always Me. The point of this meme is every Monday you share two of your favorite songs from the past week. So here are the songs I've been listening to this past week. 

I've talked a lot about K-Pop here but not enough about J-Pop. J-Pop was actually my first dip into the Asian music market. I loved the happy sounds of their pop music and they have some great dark bands as well. I found J-Pop the way most non Japanese people do I assume.... anime! 

After I found it, there was no turning back. Here is two of my favorite songs by GARNiDELiA.





Saturday, January 20, 2018

3 Mini YA NetGalley Reviews!


We all hold a beast inside. The only difference is what form it takes when freed.

Rain Ryland has never belonged anywhere, He’s used to people judging him for his rough background, his intimidating size, and now, his orphan status. He’s always been on the outside, looking in, and he’s fine with that. Until he moves to New Wurzburg and meets Friederike Burkhart.

Freddie isn’t like normal teen girls, though. And someone wants her dead for it. Freddie warns he’d better stay far away if he wants to stay alive, but Rain’s never been good at running from trouble. For the first time, Rain has something worth fighting for, worth living for. Worth dying for.




Review 

Another NetGalley review that I am so behind on. I am still trying to play catch up and get these babies done. So let's just jump into this, shall we?

Freddie and Rain are wonderfully written characters. I love them so much. They are well flushed out and even have a few flaws that make them seem that much more like real people. I love that. It's also cool to see that for once the male is human and the female is supernatural. If you want that kind of gender switch thing, get this book! It's also strange to see a YA story told from the male leads POV. That doesn't happen very much. 

This book just kind of throws what we have come to know and love about YA paranormal out the window and it does work. I'm sure people will love it! 




Mara Pryce never imagined that her life was anything but normal and then a strange gray-eyed young man appears at her graduation. When he vanishes without a trace, she’s convinced he’s a figment of her imagination. Then he appears again and shatters her whole world.

Mara is an enchanter, part of an ancient line of Wiccan power, and a war is raging—one of good and evil—between the Enchanted and the Iniquitous. 

The Iniquitous want her dead and it’s Theodore’s job as her protector to keep her safe.

When Mara and Theodore arrive at a safe house, where Mara will remain hidden while learning about her powers, they find that the real threat might be a little closer to home than they want to believe.



My Thoughts

I am slowly getting through all my NetGalley books. Which is really helping my stress level. Now to the actual review. I'm a simple person, I see anything paranormal (vampires and witches especially) and I got to read it or at the very least give it a try. So this one pulled me in quickly. I loved the characters and I thought everything was well done but the whole war part.... I just felt that it could've been more. Otherwise, I can't wait to read the rest.







Olivia Geroux knew her king was reluctant to marry her, whatever the negotiations had arranged. But she never expected to find handsome, arrogant King Rowan obsessed with his stepsister instead. And before she can determine what course to take, she overhears her greatest ally plotting to murder the princess.

Olivia must act quickly—and live with whatever chaos results. As the assassin hunts his prey, a magic mirror appears to show Olivia the three paths that open before her . . .

~ If she hesitates only a moment, the princess will die—and she will become queen.
~ If she calls for help, she will gain great power—but she must also thrust away her own happiness.
~ If she runs to stop the murder herself, she will know love and contentment—but her whole country will suffer.

As she lives out each path, her wits and courage will be tested as she fights to protect her people, her friends, and her heart. And deciding which to follow will be far from easy . . .




My Review 
I had no idea this was the second in a series! NetGalley should've told me. That being said, I still enjoyed this novel and I want o go back and read the first one now. It's well written and while Olivia isn't my favorite character in the world. I enjoy that she felt like a fully flushed out character. I loved seeing the different paths she could take. I wasn't surprised that she chose the one she did though. It seemed pretty obvious to me.

Friday, January 19, 2018

50/50 Friday - Book With Most Complex/Straightforward Plot Structure

This meme is hosted by myself and the wonderful Laura from Blue Eye Books.



What is 50/50 Friday? 
Everyone has a favorite and then we also have something we dislike. Like a coin, there are two sides to every question. Example: best sequel you've read/worst sequel you've read.


Topic for the Week
Book With Most Complex/Straightforward Plot Structure


This one will be fun and really easy for me to answer. I got a lot of books with easy to understand plots.... like any contemporary books I've read. Easy and straightforward. But I will just list a Middle Grade book series that I loved as a kid and even now.

A Living Nightmare (Cirque Du Freak)
In the tradition of Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.
Now.... sadly, most books I read have rather easy to understand plots so I wouldn't call them complex but I will go digging and see if I can find any that are a bit more..... well a bit more.

Well, I'm actually going to cheat because I have not read this series yet but I plan to soon and from the HBO show, the plot can get complex and even hard to understand at times. So it fits here. 

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Fire and Ice)



Topic for Next Week
Favorite Book Set in Winter/Summer






Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner - Review






Cunningham's classic introduction to Wicca is about how to live life magically, spiritually, and wholly attuned with nature. It is a book of sense and common sense, not only about magick, but about religion and one of the most critical issues of today: how to achieve the much needed and wholesome relationship with our Earth. Cunningham presents Wicca as it is today: a gentle, Earth-oriented religion dedicated to the Goddess and God. Wicca also includes Scott Cunningham's own Book of Shadows and updated appendices of periodicals and occult suppliers. 





My Thoughts

This book was the second book I ever read about Wicca. It helped me so freaking much. It made everything idiot proof. Which I personally needed when I first started coming from the background I did. It's written in a way that is easy to understand, easy to follow, and the author just feels like he's sitting there talking to the reader. It's a personal kind of feeling and I loved that so much. There is a lot of info in this book, everything one would need to start down this path that they've chosen. 

Some have said that this book is too 'fluffy' and while I agree that it leans to the lighter side of things. I liked that going into this from my background it was a good thing. Had it not been so fluffy I might have not continued on. So while some people hate the fluffy part, I don't. I think these 'fluffy' books are perfect for people like me. So I will always love this book and think it's great.